Adaptation Of Genovesi Dough Gluten Free

box-10

When I first saw Genovesi, Sicilian pastry cream pies, I instantly knew that I wanted to taste this magnificent pastry

http://www.undejeunerdesoleil.com/2013/06/genovesi-chaussons-creme-patissiere-Erice-Sicile.html

I finally found the recipe in English and decided to make gluten free version of the pastry first www.jamieoliver.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=31573

I am delighted to report, that even gluten free, it is truly unique and unbelievably delicious pastry, and this dough can be used to create many varieties of biscuits melting in your mouth. I will mention brands of flour, I used to make flour mix for this dough, because I am not sure that different types of flour will produce the same result. I was very impressed by the gluten free pastry flour by Well and Good in my previous project, so I decided to use it as one of the flours for the dough.

Ingredients:

  • 165 g McKenzie’s fine rice flour
  • 165 g Well and Good gluten free pastry flour
  • 1 large egg separated
  • 33 g Meadowlea cook and bake Buttery (margarine)
  • 100 g unsalted butter
  • 120 g icing sugar
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 coffee spoon of vanilla paste
  • 1/2 coffee spoon of gluten free baking powder

I substituted lard in the original recipe with butter, and vanilla sugar with vanilla paste.

Preparation of the dough:

  • Separate an egg. Whip egg white until soft peaks, add 1/2 (60 g) of sugar and continue beating until stiff peaks. Set aside.
  •  Mix together in a large bowl all dry ingredients: both flours, baking powder, 1/2 icing sugar (60 g, sift if necessary) and lemon zest. Add vanilla paste.
  • Make a well in a centre and mix margarine with your finger tips into flour mix. Use margarine and butter at room temperature.
  • Make another well and incorporate half of the butter. In another well mix in second half of the butter. Make sure that margarine and butter are completely incorporated into flour mix.
  • Working with your finger tips repeat the procedure with egg yolk and whipped egg white with the sugar.
  • Press the dough in a ball. At this stage the dough is quite soft.
  • Cut the dough into pieces, wrap each piece in glad wrap and make it in a flat round shape. Refrigerate the dough at least for one hour.

The dough can be stored overnight and used the next day.

genovpastry-1

The dough became firm in the fridge and was easy to roll. However, I used pastry flour to dust the working surface. I made different types of biscuits: plain with imprint of the lucky personal button my husband received as a present, almond and Demerara sugar, and two types with orange marmalade. I tried the shape of Genovesi with orange marmalade to see what will happen with the dough during baking.

genovpastry-10

I also tried to incorporate cottage cheese into the dough to make cottage cheese and poppy seed biscuits. The dough was softer compared to regular sweet pastry dough. I tried not to touch with the dough with my fingers and used different flat spatulas to transfer biscuits to the baking tray. I baked biscuits in fan forced oven at 170 degrees. It took 12 to 20 min, depending on type of biscuit.

genovpastry-11

All biscuits kept perfect shape during baking and became firm. They tasted simply divine warm and cold. I will not be able to report how long you can store these biscuits, they disappear very fast.

genovpastry-3

To make my husband’s favourite, I dipped some printed biscuits in dark chocolate.

genovpastry-4

Next time I will try to use only butter and not use margarine and will make thick pastry vanilla cream to make proper Genovesi. But I can say now that this wonderful dough can be used to make any biscuit, plain or filled. Bon appetite!

genovpastry-2

Leave a Reply

