Easy Pumpkin Soup

This pumpkin soup recipe has 3 main advantages – it is quick and easy recipe made in one pot, it does not have stock, fresh or dry in cubes, as an ingredient, and it is suitable practically for everyone, including vegans and people on very restrictive eating regimes.

pumpkinsoup-200

I am fully aware how lucky I am to have restrictions only for gluten and soy in my diet. However, I remember my dark years, when my restrictions were so vast, that it was just easier to name foods I could tolerate, and it would be a very short list. After many years of recovery, for 7 years now, I have no problems consuming non gluten grains, eggs, dairy, or lactose in particular, fructose and other sugars. I even survive beans and pulses. But I understand, that each intolerance, or their mix, can cause significant problems in eating healthy and balance diet, where all nutritional requirements are met.

That is why when I create and publish my recipes, I always remember to write about variations of the recipe to accommodate as many dietary needs as possible. But I still stand by my main principle in cooking – any adaptation does not allow compromise on taste and freshness. Taste has to come from the ingredients themselves and not to be created by adding something with abundance of flavour for the sake of the flavour, which often does not go with the dish.

Flavour in my version of pumpkin soup comes from pumpkin and several other vegetables and spices and not chicken stock. If you want chicken soup, just make chicken soup, a wonderful soup in its own right. I enjoy the flavour created by quick cooking of fresh vegetables and not boiling them to death, or first roasting pumpkin. This keeps the goodness of fresh vegetables as intact as possible without much loss of vitamins and other biologically active ingredients in the process of cooking.

I will present 3 versions of my pumpkin soup – my own version with butter and sour cream as garnish, vegan version with olive oil, and the third version eliminating onion and celery as ingredients, to make this recipe suitable for FODMAP friendly diet.

pumpkinsoup-201

Ingredients:

  • butternut pumpkin up to 1 kg
  • 2-3 medium carrots
  • 2 medium potatoes
  • 1 large peeled zucchini
  • 3 sticks of celery
  • 1 large onion
  • 1 table spoon of butter
  • 1 table spoon of cumin
  • 1 table spoon of turmeric
  •  salt to taste
  •  low fat sour cream and parsley to garnish the soup

Vegan version – use one table spoon of olive oil instead of butter, use toasted sesame seeds and finely chopped chillies for the garnish.

FODMAP friendly – use red capsicum to replace onion and celery, use table spoon of any oil you like.

Variations – Use any vegetables you like to add an extra dimension to the flavour and consistency of the soup. I often use parsnips and skinless eggplant.

Preparation:

  • Pour 2 cups of water in a pot, add chopped vegetables starting with carrots, then pumpkin, potatoes, celery, zucchini. I chop vegetables into small pieces – around 2 cm. The smaller the size, the quicker the soup will be ready.
  • Add water if necessary to just cover all vegetables.
  • In a separate pan sauté onion in butter, add cumin, mix it with onions, turn the heat off and leave the mix to stand for 2-3 min.
  • Add onion mix with cumin to the vegetables, add turmeric directly to vegetables.
  • As soon as carrots are tender, blend the soup in a blender or using the stick blender.
  • Add seasoning to taste.

This soup has an intense flavour of spicy fresh vegetables. Pumpkin and carrots give gentle sweetness, potato adds to the body of the soup and zucchini provides the silkiness of the texture. The soup goes very well with a toasted wholemeal or multigrain gluten free bread, or with gluten free plain, herb or cheesy croutons.

8 thoughts on “Easy Pumpkin Soup

  1. I agree – squash is an incredibly versatile veggie, and is absolutely delicious in many different preparations. This soup looks lovely, thanks for posting it!

    One thing you might try, which I’ve been doing for years, is scooping the seeds and strands out of the inside of the squash and gently simmering them in butter for about 45 minutes or so before you begin the recipe. Strain the seeds out and then use that now squash flavored butter to cook the onions, etc. It will give a nice boost of flavor (and if you pull off the strands, you can salt and eat the seeds or use them for garnish!).

    All the best 🙂

    1. Thank you for timely advice, I have 3 organic pumpkins from our friend’s vegetable garden sitting in our garage and waiting to be cooked into something nice. I am not a big fan of pumpkin, but my husband assured me, that once I try these ones, I will change my opinion. I was thinking of roasted pumpkin risotto, which I tried once in a restaurant. It was the best risotto I ever had, with deep, intense flavour, that you don’t actually expect from a few simple ingredients, and vibrant colour. Now that I think about it, it was probably not only pumpkin, but saffron as well.
      I will definitely try to flavour butter, before using it to sauté onions in pumpkin soup. Thank you for your suggestion.
      I want to add that your Easter menu was amazing, I stopped breathing at one moment when reading the menu.

      1. Wow, thank you for the nice words about my Easter menu! Coming from a serious cook like you, that means a lot.

        If I can add: if you do make that flavored butter, use more butter in the pan than you would think. The seeds will soak up a certain amount, so if you need, say, 2T of butter for the recipe and you only put 2T in the pan with the seeds…you will end up with far less butter at the end. Use at least twice as much as the recipe calls for and really press down on the seeds in the strainer to get as much oil out as possible at the end.

        Roasting squash first really adds a depth and richness of flavor. For one thing it drives off water, concentrating the remaining flavors. But also, there’s a fair amount of sugar in many squash varieties. Roasting them first caramelizes the flesh, and that REALLY elevates many dishes made from it to a whole ‘nuther level. I do it quite often, especially with soups and preparations like that risotto (which my wife loves, so I make fairly often in the fall).

        And I agree: saffron and pumpkin is a heavenly combination. Perhaps they did use it.

        🙂

      2. Thanks again, this flavoured butter, if in excess, can be used on other dishes.
        I do like sweetness that comes from caramelisation, may be that is why I like to start dishes with plenty of liquid, or soups, with gentle frying of onions, with carrots added later. At least half of the fat comes from butter, and I have to confess that I indulge myself by using quality butter now for all the frying. Once you try it, it is impossible to go back to regular product, which is of coarse good, but not the same. I am also more inclined to use leek or sometimes baby leek to add to onions, or completely replace them. Leek in butter will lift any dish.
        It is always a pleasure to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

