Chicken Pate

Chicken pate with eggs is one of my favourite dishes. I like everything about it. It’s easy to make, it has soft juicy texture and sweet meaty taste, it’s good for you and  the  by-product of chicken fillet cooking is delicious chicken stock. Finally, chicken pate is very versatile product with many uses.

Ingredients:

  • 3 chicken skinless maryland fillets
  • 2 medium onions
  • 4 medium carrots
  • 200 g finely sliced white cabbage
  • 4 hard boiled eggs
  • 15-20 g unsalted butter (replaced by cold pressed olive oil in Paleo version)
  • 1 table spoon red chili pepper and garlic paste (my own easy to make fermented product)
  • 20-50 ml of chicken stock from cooking chicken maryland fillets
  • salt and pepper to season
  • carrot, celery stick and 1/4 of onion for cooking chicken fillets

Preparation:

  • cook chicken fillets  in a pot with 1.5 l of water, carrot, celery, onion and seasoning, on low heat for 30 min
  • in a deep pan  lightly cook chopped onions and carrots in butter until onions are translucent
  • add cabbage and seasoning, stir, cover with lid and cook for 5-6 min until cabbage is soft, if dry add chicken stock
  • leave vegetables to cool
  • boil eggs for 10-12 min, after that put them in cold water
  • cut cooked chicken fillets in smaller pieces, put chicken and vegetables into food processor
  • add chili and garlic paste,  make coarse pate, adding chicken stock to have consistency of wet risotto
  • grate hard boiled eggs, add them to pate and mix everything together

Chicken and vegetable pate with hard-boiled eggs is nutritionally well balanced dish.  It has easily digestible protein, has substantially lower level of fat, compared to regular pate. It has a sweet taste from carrots and onions, and juiciness from cabbage. I am sure, that even kids who adore fast food chicken taste, will like this pate and would not mind the amount of vegetables in it.  It is good food for elderly and frail – tasty, not much to chew, good nourishment. It is excellent in sandwiches and good for lunch boxes with gluten free bread.

ChickenPate-2009

Pate can be used as a source of protein in rice paper rolls with any crunchy julienned vegetables – carrots, red and yellow capsicum, cucumbers, celery, or fresh herbs (coriander).

RiceRolls-1

And my absolute favourite – crepe parcels with chicken pate. It probably sounds strange and hard to believe, but I find crepes made with gluten free plain flour mixes (I tried 2 from Orgran and Well and Good) better compared to regular wheat flour. They have tender texture, very pleasant to bite in. without being difficult to make.

ChickenPate-2003

I am very grateful to my friends, who treated me with presents of wonderful linens and ceramics from Latvia. I am afraid these beautiful objects overshine chicken pate sandwiches on crusty gluten free bread.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “Chicken Pate

  1. Thank you for this inspiring recipe. Do you suppose the eggs could be hard-boiled alongside the chicken, over the last 10 minutes of cooking time? Of course I would have to wash the shells before plunging them into the simmering pot. (Here in France eggs are not washed prior to selling, just cleaned)
    My husband has been asking me for a rabbit pâté, so I am sure I can use your recipe, even with adjusting for his sulfite intolerance.

    1. I suppose you can cook eggs with chicken, though I usually use the liquid from chicken as stock and now add plenty of vegetables, often cabbage or cauliflower leaves, some scrapes that might otherwise go into the bin. So there is not much space for eggs. And I make this pate often without eggs as well. With plenty of sautéed onion/leek and carrots, this pate is very soft without being overloaded with butter. I also make it in dairy free version for a friend, using half olive oil half coconut oil to cook vegetables. One of my favourite dishes which I make on regular basis.

  2. We had the pate twice already. The second time, I added some diced chorizo and stuffed red bell pepper (capsicum) halves which I then baked for about an hour. Very tasty. And tomorrow the pate will be eaten inside a teff flour bread roll. Quite a versatile recipe, thank you.
    I also froze the cooking liquid, planning to use it as stock in future soups.

    1. I completely agree with you Joelle, this recipe can be used for many purposes. I also bake bread rolls with it, I just make it not too soft and leave the texture coarse. My favourite, however, is to use it with crepes. It takes time to make those parcels, but they are perfect with a hot tea with lemon.

Leave a Reply

