McKenzie’s Rice Flour

Update

I have developed many new recipes which have McKenzie’s rice flour as one of the ingredients.  I will include links to these recipes as soon as I publish them. All updates appear in italic.

McKenzie’s rice flour was the first product I turned to when I was diagnosed with coeliac disease. Now, 14 years later, it is still the product I use, buy on regular basis and can’t go without in my pantry. I have experimented with this flour baking variety of biscuits, muffins, cakes, tarts. Some of those recipes of earlier times I do not even remember, but some survived many years of use and I still make them. So, this post is a tribute to a simple product, that served me well for many years and I will use for many more years to come.

withriceflower-18

I will start with gluten free sultana cake, because it was the first and only recipe I published, when this blog was established. It is the most popular recipe on this blog. This cake is not a typical soft sultana or fruit cake. I was trying to recreate the taste and texture of very dry and compacted sultana cake or sultana keks, as it was called in my childhood. The cake only gets better with time. It served me very well, taken as a sweet treat in my long business trips, when I knew it would be difficult to find quickly gluten free eating options. The slice of this cake tastes more like a sophisticated biscuit with very dry sugary crust and dry, but soft middle, with abundance of flavour. I do not make this cake often now, it is not as healthy as others, with lower fat and flour content, while higher in protein, from substituting flour with ricotta and cottage cheeses. But as a treat, it is still one of my favourites.

fc2-14

I now make gluten free fruit cake with the recipe of the batter identical to sultana cake, with many more dried fruit in it. The cake has softer and less dense texture, close to typical fruit cakes. With abundance of tart raisins, apricots, dry sour cherries and my own orange peel, this cake is not overly sweet and has very intense flavours with a nice balance of sweet and sour.

ChocoladeOrangeBiscuits-10

Rice flour is the main flour component in my recipes for biscuits. They are dry, crunchy, and do not have floury taste, as many biscuits made from gluten free flour mixes, full of starches. They stay crunchy for a long time, if stored in a container with a tight lid. I make not only plain, but also different jam biscuits. Though I might be using different brands of gluten free commercial flour mixes for biscuit recipes, rice flour always remains as main and predominant ingredient.

Bstack-3

I use sweet pastry for biscuits to make  shells for any tarts and tartlets. Some of them include blind baking and some don’t.

I used McKenzie’s rice flour as a mix with Well&Good pastry flour, to make delicate dough for Genovesi pastries, which I used to make a variety of biscuits.

toreplace-12

Another cake I make with rice flour is Napoleon, layered cake with rich vanilla cream. I only make it either for Christmas or New Year, as a very special cake. It is my favourite cake and I savour every moment when making it.

toreplace-3
The same Napoleon dough was used for making sour cherry and walnut strudel.

walnutstrudel-24

I even managed to make a special version of this strudel using honey instead of sugar and almond milk instead of regular milk.

SpecialStrudel-55

I use rice flour in minor quantities in flourless cakes, just to reduce the moisture content in the final product, to make cake lighter and not soggy. It takes 1 or 2 table spoons of rice flour to make it happen for different varieties of almond cakes with fruit purees and cottage cheese as ingredients.

AlmondCake3-305

My favourite version of orange and almond cake out of 5 recipes has rice flour to strengthen the structure of the cake and to help keep its shape.

orangeandalmondcake2-3

My latest most exciting bakes with rice flour include quick puff pastry for different types of sweet pastry shells to be filled with vanilla cream, as well as the base for savoury and sweet biscuits. They include berry tartlets

vanillacreamtart-6

and vanilla cream horns.

napoleonpastries-18

To conclude the review, I would encourage to use rice flour in gluten free baking on its own and in a mix with other flours (quinoa, millet, fine polenta, tapioca), as well as with almond, hazelnut or cashew meal. These mixes would be based on whole grains, rather than starches, which often are main components of commercially available gluten free flour mixes.

Leave a Reply

