Gluten Free Crepes

I love crepes, both plain and with savoury and sweet fillings. I remember the relief I had, after I made my first gluten free crepes and realised, life without gluten is not going to be bad at all. I actually think that crepes, made of gluten free plain flour mixes, taste better than wheat flour ones.  I have tried Orgran and, lately, Well&Good plain flour mixes. They both make very tasty, thin crepes with delicate softness.

Crepes-3001

Gluten free crepes are very nice with berries, bananas and any jam, but can also be used with different sweet and savoury fillings.

ChickenPate-2003

Ingredients: makes 8 crepes

  • 1 egg
  • 75 g Well@Good plain flour  (Orgran plain flour)
  • 300 ml milk
  • 5 g sugar (one tea spoon)
  • pinch of salt
  • butter/oil to brush the pan

Preparation:

  • place flour, sugar and salt in a bowl and make a well in the middle
  • add an egg and 1/3 of milk and start mixing it together with a whisk
  • add more milk, whisking in the process, until all flour is incorporated (I find that Well@Good flour does not need sifting and mixes easily without any lumps. Orgran flour have to be combined with milk and egg more carefully and sometimes needed the use of stick blender to avoid lumps)
  • brush the pan with butter (oil if you prefer), pour the crepes batter and let it spread over the surface of the pan
  • fry crepes on both sides, brushing the pan after each crepe

I never add oil to the batter and prefer to butter the pan for each crepe. When I make crepes to use them as parcels with different filling, I brush the pan with butter after 2 crepes. I use special pan for crepes (Raco), but any non stick pan will do. However, for regular crepes making, I advice to invest in special crepes pan.

Creppes-200

For me, nothing beats fresh crepes triangles, with just a touch of butter and Demerara sugar inside, for Sunday breakfast. For more nutritionally balanced breakfast, I add cottage cheese, spread it on top of a crepe and roll it. Dusting sugar and berry sauce make it a treat.

Crepes-3006

Any pate  or puree will go nicely as sweet and savoury filling for crepes parcels. Ricotta and spinach, mushroom, apple puree, and my favourite – chicken pate, can be used to make crepes parcels.

ChickenPate-2001

Crepes parcels with fully cooked fillings can be kept in the fridge for 3-5 days and only reheated on a pan before mealtime.

Leave a Reply

