Chicken Drumsticks in Dijon Mustard Sauce with Bacon and Mushrooms

The inspiration to make this dish came from the discovery of French chicken recipe, where all of the three ingredients I like, came together in one sauce. It never crossed my mind to use Dijon mustard with smoked paprika and thyme. I was intrigued to use these ingredients to make sauce, added some of my own changes to suit our taste, and here is my version of Chicken Dijonnaise. You can find the original recipe here. I made several changes: did not use wine, used sour cream instead of cream, added carrots, mushrooms and fennel seeds to the sauce and plenty of dill for serving the dish.

Ingredients:

  • 6 chicken drumsticks (or any other chicken pieces)
  • 2 medium onions, sliced in semi-circles
  • 3 small carrots, sliced
  • 8-10 mushrooms, sliced
  • 3 shortcut bacon slices (I used 2 bacon and 1 prosciutto slices, sitting in the fridge and waiting to be used)
  • 4-5 sticks of fresh thyme

dijonchicken-1

  • 2 table spoons of olive oil
  • 1 table spoon of butter
  • 2 table spoons of light sour cream (I find Coles brand the best in taste and texture to use fresh and for cooking)
  • 1/2 bunch of fresh dill
  • 1/2 tea spoon of fennel seeds
  • sea salt and black pepper for seasoning

for chicken marinade:

  • 3 heaped tea spoons Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tea spoon smoked paprika
  • 1 tea spoon sea salt
  • 1/2 tea spoon ground black pepper
  • 1 stick of fresh thyme, chopped

dijonchicken-2

Preparation:

  • whisk chicken marinade ingredients together in a bowl
  • cover chicken pieces (drumsticks) with marinade paste, set aside

dijonchicken-3

  • in a shallow casserole dish (I absolutely enjoy my latest favourites – ceramic non-stick Baccarat Bio+ series cookware) fry onions with bacon in 1 table spoon of olive oil and 1 table spoon of butter
  • season with salt and pepper

dijonchicken-6

  • take out of frying pan and set aside
  • add another table spoon of olive oil and fry chicken pieces on both sides on medium heat

dijonchicken-7

  • cover chicken pieces with fried onions and bacon
  • add sliced carrots
  • sprinkle with fennel seeds and chopped thyme

dijonchicken-8

  • pour boiling water in a bowl with left marinade, and use this water to cover chicken pieces in casserole dish
  • add sliced mushrooms
  • add sour cream

dijonchicken-9

  • reduce heat, cover casserole dish with lid, and cook on low heat for 90min. (the dish will be ready in 45-60min, depending on the size of chicken pieces, but I like my chicken to be extra soft, and nearly falling of the bone, so I cooked the dish for extra 30 min, in which the sauce developed extra flavour and more sophisticated taste)
  • take casserole dish of the heat and let the dish rest for 20-25min.

dijonchicken-10

  • add chopped fresh dill to the dish just before serving

dijonchicken-15

The sauce tasted amazing, all the flavours melted together, it was impossible to distinguish between individual flavours, intense flavour penetrated through all layers of drumsticks and made chicken meat very succulent. I was concerned, that I might have too much of a sauce, but its quantity was just right for potatoes, I boiled in jackets. I only used a bit of butter and fresh chopped dill on potatoes, and made simple salad of cucumbers, cherry tomatoes and onions with sour cream to go with the chicken.

dijonchicken-16

This dish is a winner for me, I am glad I have stumbled on that image, and went further to discover the recipe. I am sure, I will use these ingredients together in many other dishes, the first on my mind – lamb and pork frikadelles in mustard, smoked paprika and thyme sauce with sour cream.

Leave a Reply

