Chicken with Vegetables in Spicy Coconut Sauce

I often cook warming chicken dishes in winter and one of my favourites are chicken and mushroom casserole with sour cream (here) and chicken in Dijon mustard sauce (here). To create recipes for a dairy free option I switched to coconut, and it demanded completely different spice and herb mix.

echc-13

I came up with my own version of a spicy sauce, which is quite different from the traditional selection of spices used in Asian coconut dishes. I have published the recipe with step by step photos in my second blog, specifically created as a recipe book for our friend not only gluten, but dairy, grain, sugar and some other nutrients free.

I will mention only ingredients here, more information can be found in the original post here.

Ingredients:

  • 6-8 chicken drumsticks, depending on their size
  • 1 zucchini/eggplant
  • 4 carrots
  • 1 onion
  • 1 leek (one another onion)
  • 3-4 celery sticks
  • 1 red capsicum/red sweet chili pepper
  • 400ml can of organic coconut milk/coconut cream
  • 2 table spoons of olive oil

spices

echc-1

  • 2 heaped  tea spoons of cumin powder
  • 3-4 tea spoons of sweet paprika
  • 3-4 sticks of thyme
  • generous pinch of fennel seeds
  • pinch of saffron threads
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • deseeded bird’s eye chilli (I replace garlic and chilli with my own fermented spicy preserve, I used 4 tea spoons)
  • 30-35g piece of fresh ginger (can be replaced with organic minced ginger from a jar)
  • salt and coarse black pepper to taste

echc-10

I cooked this dish several times and have to admit that it tastes a little different every time. I like to use plenty of liquid, and sometimes the dish comes out nearly like a thick soup, excellent on a chilly winter day in Melbourne, with a piece of freshly baked gluten free bread. I like it also served with gluten free pasta, while my husband always has it with steamed vegetables.

eChco-6

I like to use chicken on the bone and cook it for a long time to have meat falling from the bone.

echc-18

It is an easy dish to cook in one pot. It gets only better reheated and can be even frozen. The dish is very flexible and adaptable in meat, vegetable and spices selection. I also like to use skinless chicken drumsticks with cut off lower joints.  This makes them look like cutlets, which take less space in a pot and look very cute served.

Leave a Reply

