Egg Replacement in Gluten Free Cooking – Guest post

I am delighted to present this guest post from the author of an interesting and inspiring blog pep’s Free From Kitchen, full of original recipes, easily adaptable to different dietary requirements and with variety of choices for ingredients. The uniqueness of this post is in its detailed information and practical advice about egg replacement in real recipes tried in real kitchen. Many valuable observations are of great help in recipe creation and adaptation to specific dietary limitations. I also want to include the link to an article, where you can find general information about various ingredients for egg replacement (read here), where all choices are discussed depending on the role eggs play in the recipe.

Now I leave you to enjoy the post.

Firstly I’d like to say thank you to Dr Irena Tarvid for this opportunity and also her faith in me and my recipes. This is my first time ever writing a guest blog post so I hope you’ll bear with me and we’ll all learn a little something from this. Today I’ll be sharing my meagre insights and tips about egg replacements in free-from baking. Like anyone else in the free-from baking world I’m still learning, experimenting and finding out what works. What I’ll try to do here is post a recipe that either uses a egg-replacer or one that can be made using an egg-replacer. Firstly I’ll also give a basic run-down of the egg-replacers that I’m familiar working with myself. Not to say this is an extensive list, there is always more to be learned so keep trying and researching.

eggreplacement-6

Flax Egg

https://pepsfreefromkitchen.wordpress.com/2015/02/27/flax-egg/

One of the most common egg substitutes around. I’ve found it to be one of the more versatile as it can easily replace an egg in any recipe without changing the recipe too much. It will affect the flavour slightly along with the colour, it will speckle pale pastry etc.

Chia Egg

I don’t have a recipe for this, but the ratios are the same as the flax egg. It’s much thicker than the flax egg and it doesn’t seem to be as versatile, but I’ve found it does bind better. I’ll elaborate on this a little later.

Banana

Replace an egg with one Ripe, Mashed Banana. I find this works better in vegan banana breads, muffins and cookies. If you use it with an egg in cookies it gives a texture that resembles banana bread, but even as a standalone it will impart a banana flavour to your baking. Too much banana will cause baked goods to crumble so stick to one or two at most.

Yoghurt

Replace an egg using 70g Yoghurt. I’ve found this works well in some recipes, while not so well in others. In cookies it causes them to be heavier, while in pastry it did help it become more manageable, but did cause it to cook unevenly. I’ll share a recipe where this works wonderfully.

Avocado

Replace an Egg with 1/4 Mashed Avocado. I haven’t used this extensively. Only in a cookie recipe. It does work well, as with the yoghurt it does cause baked goods to end up a tad flatter, but it gives a rich, almost, buttery taste to baked goods. Worth looking into.

Butternut Squash

Replace an Egg with 70g Butternut Squash. I haven’t had a great deal of success with this. It does work, but when I used it in pastry it caused it to be too tacky and rather wet. It works wonderfully with an egg in breads and I imagine given some testing could work well in such recipes by itself.

So that’s my list of egg substitutes, not to say there aren’t more, but they’ll be up to you to find. Maybe someday I’ll have the opportunity to share my experiences with you again. Now I’ll share a few recipes that use these egg-replacers. All are gluten and nightshade free. I like to take everything on a recipe to recipe basis, if I post a recipe here that means I’ve tried it and am happy with the results.

eggreplacementguest-1

I never assume a recipe will work just because another did. You may be able to take a little from each and apply them to your own baked goods or just use them as is. Now onto the recipes.

Buckwheat and Sweet Potato Gnocchi https://pepsfreefromkitchen.wordpress.com/2015/02/25/buckwheat-and-sweet-potato-gnocchi/

A gnocchi that uses flax meal instead of an egg and can be made with Sweet Potato or any Squash. This really shows how different egg-replacers can work with free-from flours to help create a easily work and surprisingly,buckwheat is rather dense, light dough. I’ll keep these description short as the recipe page will be more informative.

Buckwheat Flour Bread https://pepsfreefromkitchen.wordpress.com/2015/02/25/buckwheat-flour-bread/

A firm favourite of mine, very versatile. Here a flax egg can help bind the bread when not using an egg, although I did find it lost some of it’s flavour in doing so.

Buckwheat Flour Muffins https://pepsfreefromkitchen.wordpress.com/2015/02/25/buckwheat-flour-muffins/

You can find a lot of these egg-less versions under variations as I do try rather a lot with my recipes, when possible, and they’d get rather crowded if separated. Simple yet tasty, a banana bread texture and a strong flavour of buckwheat. Which is always welcome.

Buckwheat Flour Peanut Butter Biscuits https://pepsfreefromkitchen.wordpress.com/2015/07/23/buckwheat-flour-peanut-butter-biscuits/

One of the reasons I enjoy using flax-eggs are that one egg will replace half a chicken egg in a recipe and allow you to halve a recipe when it’s too large for you or you’d rather test a smaller batch first. These taste the same whichever egg you use.

Buckwheat Flour Shortcrust Pastry https://pepsfreefromkitchen.wordpress.com/2015/02/25/buckwheat-flour-shortcrust-pastry/

Flax works well here, but chia steals the show. It’s as good as gluten based pastry in my opinion. Easy to roll thin, doesn’t tear. Wonderful. Hand pies, tarts, pie-shells, anything goes.

Buckwheat Flour Tortillas https://pepsfreefromkitchen.wordpress.com/2015/03/31/buckwheat-flour-tortillas/

Chia, Flax and Yoghurt work here. Chia is the winner again, but all work reasonably well. A similar recipe, more of a cracker when baked than a tortilla, but let’s just pretend, shall we?

Buckwheat Soba Noodles https://pepsfreefromkitchen.wordpress.com/2015/05/22/buckwheat-soba-noodles/

Flax and Yoghurt work here, yoghurt works better, but I still think chia may win out yet again. I haven’t tried it, yet. Not traditional, but at least it’s all buckwheat with no other flours added.

Hemp and Peanut Butter Cookies https://pepsfreefromkitchen.wordpress.com/2015/02/27/hemp-and-peanut-butter-cookies/

Here  was where I learned that a flax egg in it’s usual ratio was only suitable for a small egg. Use two here for the same  effect as a full egg.

Microwave Rice Flour Cake https://pepsfreefromkitchen.wordpress.com/2015/03/14/microwave-rice-flour-cake-single-serving-gf-nf/

Another banana egg recipe and another banana bread. I think this was the way the recipe was original made. An egg makes it lighter, but the banana works well here. It also relies on some flax to help it hold together.

Peanut Butter Cookies https://pepsfreefromkitchen.wordpress.com/2015/02/28/peanut-butter-cookies/

The everything recipe. All eggs, bar the butternut, tried and tested. A wonderfully simple yet amazingly tasty recipe. Great for kids and adults alike to make (And eat!).

Rice Flour Peanut Butter Biscuits https://pepsfreefromkitchen.wordpress.com/2015/03/01/rice-flour-peanut-butter-biscuits/

Same as the above but with Rice Flour. I have heard that nut butter can replace eggs, but I haven’t had the chance to try it myself. Maybe you will.

Quinoa Flour Peanut Butter Biscuits https://pepsfreefromkitchen.wordpress.com/2015/08/28/quinoa-flour-peanut-butter-biscuits/

Yet again the same as above. With quinoa flour. A flour I think may be worth more experimenting, but that’s for another day.

So that’s it for me today. Thank you for reading and a huge thanks to Dr Irena Tarvid for the chance to share these recipes and help them circulate. If only one person finds a use for anything here then it’s worth all the time I’ve spent devising these recipes. Feel free to drop by https://pepsfreefromkitchen.wordpress.com/ and see what I have to offer. Now if you’ll excuse me I’m off to marvel at the recipes on this site. It’s always great to have something like this site that you can aspire to be nearly as good as someday. Until next time, take care and happy baking.

eggreplacementguest-2

One thought on “Egg Replacement in Gluten Free Cooking – Guest post

  1. Where can I begin, this is incredible, thank you for the opportunity to share my recipes and what little I know. Your kind words will never be forgotten. I still can’t get over how amazing the photos look, they’re perfect. Thank you again, I’m honestly overcome.

Leave a Reply

