Baking Gluten Free Bread from Well and Good Raw Ingredients Range

This post is the result of my experiments with different homemade gluten free flour mixes for baking gluten free yeast bread. I tried to improve the process and make it even easier, compared to my previous yeast bread recipes. I have adjusted practically every step of the process, to achieve simple and super reliable preparation that has nearly no chances to go wrong. I also wanted to get more airy structure of the loaf, paired with reliable baking regime. When mixing different individual gluten free flours, I used flour samples provided by Well and Good from their Raw Ingredients line. When individual flour was not available or I run out of these samples, I used gluten free products from other brands. Two slightly different bread recipes, presented in this article, both gave excellent results. The difference in these recipes was in gluten free flour mix and the use of 2 type of dough thickeners – xanthan gum and guar gum, both supplied by Well and Good.

wg_caraway2-1

wg_caraway2-5

I have finally worked out the loaf shape, as well as  baking dish material and shape, for the best dough rise, baking regime and bread texture. Round flat loaf, prepared and baked in lined Pyrex glass baking dish, gave me the bread I wanted.

wg_caraway2-3

The dough rises well and keeps its shape when it is not disturbed with temperature fluctuations. The loaf shrinks a little during baking, which results in flat instead of dome shape crust. The second recipe I baked as a round loaf and as bread rolls.

ciabattaguargum-1

Baking these bread rolls was a curious event in itself. The dough expanded very well to the point, that it covered the whole surface of the baking tray. I did not take the tray away from the oven where it was rising and started baking process from the warm oven, switched to the temperature of 200C fan. Already quite flat dough deflated even more during baking and resulted in funny creatures – very flat pieces of bread, with perfect crust and airy, chewy middle. In taste and texture this bread was nearly like ciabatta bread, with a hard dry crust and chewy middle with large air pockets.

ciabattaguargum-2

ciabattaguargum-4

The unique feature of these rolls was that they were excellent straight from the oven, hot and unrested, which is very unusual for gluten free yeast bread, that needs its full resting and cooling down, to reduce the moisture inside the loaf.

Ingredients:

1 recipe for round loaf

  • 60g quinoa flour *
  • 130g sorghum flour *
  • 60g millet flour *
  • 110g potato starch *
  • 25g flaxseed meal
  • 8g sea salt
  • 7g xanthan gum *
  • 20g sugar
  • 7g dry yeast (1 sachet)
  • 25g butter/oil (I used Lurpak soft spreadable butter)
  • 390g/ml warm water (temperature 35-37C)
  • sesame seeds (optional)
  • butter to brush the loaf after baking (optional)

* here and below marks Well and Good products

wgcaraway-1

recipe 2 for round loaf or 9 flat bread rolls

  • 100g organic corn flour (not starch) Chef’s Choice
  • 100g white rice flour CeresOrganics
  • 50g buckwheat flour LotusOrganic
  • 100g potato starch *
  • 20g flaxseed meal
  • 6g sea salt
  • 8g guar gum *
  • 20g sugar
  • 7g dry yeast (1 sachet)
  • 20g oil/butter (I used avocado oil)
  • 300g/ml warm water (temperature 35-37C)
  • sesame seeds (optional)

Preparation:

  • switch the oven to heat up it a little, to be warm, but not hot inside (check the temperature if not sure)
  • line Pyrex baking dish with cake paper liners or baking paper
  • measure appropriate for the recipe quantity of warm water (290ml recipe 1 or 200ml recipe 2)
  • add oil or butter, set aside
  • in another glass measure 100ml of warm water, add sugar
  • dissolve sugar in warm water, add dry yeast, stir
  • while yeast is activated, mix all twice sifted dry ingredients into a large bowl (I use glass)
  • thoroughly mix all dry ingredients with a whisk
  • stir yeast solution and add it to dry ingredients, add water and oil
  • combine wet and dry ingredients, I do my mixing with my hands, it lets me feel the texture of the dough
  • the dough in both cases will be soft, but will firmly stay together

mixedcaraway720-1

  • wet your hands and work with the dough with wet hands
  • shape the dough into a large disc, drop it into a lined baking dish and spread the dough

mixedcaraway720-3

  • make sure that the surface of the dough is wet, if necessary use the brush with water
  • use white or black sesame seeds (or their mix) on top of the dough
  • cover baking dish with a plastic wrap
  • place the dish in a middle level in the oven, leave the lights in the oven
  • let the dough raise, it will triple in volume, do not let the dough rise to touch plastic wrap, it will stick to it

mixedcaraway720-5

  • the process will take from 40 to 90 minutes, it depends on the temperature of the water used, and the temperature in your oven
  • take the dish out of the oven, leave it at room temperature while the oven heats to 200C fan
  • place the dish into the preheated to 200C oven and bake 60 min, without opening the oven door
  • depending on your individual oven, baking regime might be 40min at 200C fan, later reduced to 180C fan and another 20 min
  • take bread loaf out of the baking dish, place it on a wire rack and return wire rack to the switched off oven to coll down completely
  • you can brush hot loaf with butter, before returning into the oven to get a softer crust

mixedcaraway720-6

mixedcaraway720-8

Sliced round loaf

recipe 1

wg_caraway2-6

recipe 2 ready to go into freezer

guargum-1

baking flat bread rolls

  • for even sized bread rolls use 82-83g pieces of the dough, shape them in slightly flatten discs, the dough has to be wet on the surface, especially if it it put to rise into the warm oven uncovered, it will dry out
  • I did not have any deep tray to place bread rolls to rise in covered moist environment, if you have one it would be the best option
  • I simply sprayed some water into the oven and used wet tea towel on the upper shelf to make sort of a tent over the rolls, do not let anything to touch the dough, it will stick
  • when the dough spreads out (it will go to sides more than up) to cover nearly all baking surface, take the towel/uncover the tray and set the oven for 200C fan
  • bake from the cold oven for 40-45 min

ciabattaguargum-3

I bake these recipes on a weekly basis now, and as my husband says that flat bread is his all time favourite now, I bake those strange looking creatures too, notwithstanding their unusual, not to say ugly duckling look. They are excellent with soup, with their advantage to be wonderfully tasting straight from the oven. Both recipes produce delicious bread, easily frozen and reheated in a toaster. The most surprising thing is that these rolls, which I separate with scissors (!), freeze and defrost well. From the toaster they taste as if they were just baked.

As a general conclusion I can only say, that the quality of gluten free products from Well and Good never disappoints, and always brings joy to my baking. I am very happy I finally used potato starch in several bakes. It proved to me that potato starch is not an inferior product to tapioca starch.  I had this preconception before and happy to admit that I was under the wrong impression. The same goes for guar gum. I finally tried it in bread recipes and can’t say any negative things about it.

wg_caraway2-8

8 thoughts on “Baking Gluten Free Bread from Well and Good Raw Ingredients Range

  1. Hi! I have had the same thing (flattish, although very tasty, bread rolls) happen to me. The way to prevent that is 1) either by folding beaten egg white into the dough or 2) baking your rolls in individual dishes, this way they only have one way to rise, and that is up rather than out! I use something we call “cassolettes” here in France, they are small earth clay baking dishes, very handy.
    Also, if you brush the plastic wrap with oil, the wet dough should not stick while rising.
    Nice recipe, on my way to look at more…

    1. Hi, I was just going through your both French and English blogs and have found some very impressive recipes. I have just started to learn French and was happy to discover that I can read and understand the titles and ingredient lists. My first practical result.
      My husband loves these flat rolls so much, that in his opinion they are the best of my bread he had so far. They are not very practical though, they last 2 days and I have to bake again. I prefer the round loaf, I can slice it, freeze and it lasts for a week. I am currently working on “amish” style bread rolls, with cooked potato and quinoa flour, but without yeast. With eggs in the dough I can avoid using starches and gums. I have also to avoid sulphur bases preservatives in the recipes, which I develop for my second e-cooking blog, where restrictions for ingredients are more dramatic. Looking forward to study your recipes.

      1. Thank you for the compliments!
        About being unable to satisfactorily freeze flat rolls, I know, you really need something fluffier for that. And I have come to realize that having the right tools truly helps! (My Significant Other says the same, grumbling, about repair jobs around the house…) I have also recently invested in a double baguette “mold” (tray?) and froze one of the loaves. It still came out looking uncomely , since the dough could not completely hold its shape, but, oh my, did it taste good, even after defrosting!
        I will have to take a look at your low sulphur recipes. My Significant Other has serious issues with sulfites (as well as dairy, and I with gluten, what a sad pair 🙄…) so any new ideas will be welcome!

      2. P-S: So you are learning French, good for you! If you need any help, let me know… My own current personal challenge is learning to play piano (and reading score sheets…). Quite stimulating!

  2. Oh so glad I found such inspiring blog! I am gluten intolerant and sometimes my “what for dinner” ideas are just finished…
    You are welcome to check out my blog 🙂 Have a nice day!

    1. I have been on gluten free diet since coeliac diagnosis in 2000. I have had thyroid problems and was finally diagnosed with Hashimoto disease. These two often make a pair. May be because I was so ill before diagnosis and could not eat practically anything, I did not find going gluten free difficult or restricting. I was happy that I can eat at all. We have gluten free household now, but we eat healthy, nourishing and tasty food. It takes time and effort to adjust and with time it gets easier. I am glad my recipes can be helpful.

      1. I do not have coeliac disease, but for sure I am gluten intolerant (migraines, fatigue, bloated stomach if I eat gluten). I am also hypothyroid, however the doctors cannot tell me if I am Hashimoto’s or not…but I know I am at risk. Anyway I think nowadays wheat is such processed, that actually everyone should go gluten free. I write articles how I fight with hypothyroidism by eating clean, healthy and tasty. Also I try to use only organic cosmetics 🙂

Leave a Reply

