Desserts with Figs

The peak season for figs is over, but they can still be found in the supermarkets and green grocery shops. It is difficult to argue that fresh, ripe, juicy figs are best eaten as they are, without cooking or baking. They may be served as an exquisite topping for yogurt, breakfast muesli, fluffy pancakes or an ice-cream. Figs can also be a part of a simple, but delicious dessert, served with custard, creme Anglaise or any fruit/berry sauce.

However, small, not quite ripe figs, or figs, that are not juicy and have dry texture inside, can be used to make jam or stew, either on their own, or in a mix with other fruits.

Recipe for pear, apricot and fig stew with chia seeds can be found here.

Recipe for figs with walnuts in honey syrup with chia seeds is published in ecookingblog here.

Figs can be roasted at low temperatures with a touch of aromatic unrefined sugar and lemon juice. They go perfect with Creme Anglaise.

And finally figs can be used as a soft fruit layer in almond cakes and frangipane tarts (plums or cherries, shown in the recipe, can be replaced with halved or sliced figs).

Enjoy figs while they are still in season!

4 thoughts on “Desserts with Figs

  1. I think figs are one of the more underappreciated ingredients out there. They are so versatile, matching with all sorts of foods both sweet and savory. Not to mention how delectable they are all on their own. I was lucky to have grown up in a largely Italian household where figs were commonplace, so I’m quite enamored of them. My own favorite preparation: halved, topped with feta cheese (although I prefer the milder French fresh goat cheese when I can find it) and a drizzle of olive oil, then under the broiler til just browned a bit. Sometimes wrapped in prosciutto, if I can justify the cost. (In a bit of kismet, I just posted a recipe on my own blog for a chicken galantine flavored with kadota fig jam, lemon preserves, and thyme.)

    Your recipes here look absolutely lovely, with the almond cake being particularly appealing to me. I wonder how figs would fare as a substitute in the classic “Pear Tart with Almond Cream”? I may have to try that.

    BTW, I love the look of all those vanilla flecks in your crème anglaise. I bet it’s divine.

    1. Just enjoying reading your blog, recipes and life in general. I never had fresh figs before we came to Australia, now they are my absolute favourite. I agree with you, they are divine not only in desserts, but in sweet and savoury mix, with goat cheese and cured meat – perfect.
      I am also with you on making cottage cheese at home, none of store bought ricotta is as delicious as homemade. I bake a lot with cottage cheese, very arrogant of me, I know, but almond cream, frangipane, made with cottage cheese instead of butter has much more sophisticated taste and makes better bed for any fruits or berries, both light and heavy. With the crust made from buckwheat flour, even better ground raw buckwheat, with half butter, half lard as fat, these frangipane tarts or tiny mini tartlets are simply perfect. I was just thinking about baking one with pears.

Leave a Reply

