Homemade Gluten Free Buckwheat Soba Noodles

After several successful recipes based only on buckwheat flour, it was time to try making buckwheat soba noodles. I never tasted ready commercial soba noodles, because I haven’t been lucky to find gluten free, only buckwheat soba in shops. I decided to use my dumplings dough recipe as a prototype, with eggs and water as wet ingredients. My only concern was about the absence of any gums and the reliance on binding capacity of buckwheat flour alone in soba recipe I was going to try. Traditional Japanese soba recipes often have some wheat flour to help the dough stay together and to be flexible. But I wanted to try the recipe with only buckwheat flour first, before adding xanthan gum or any other binding agents, to replace gluten from wheat. To my delight the recipe worked, and I have made soba noodles based on this recipe several times now.

Soba-2

To make preparation process more reliable and straight forward, I made some allowances to traditional shape of soba. It was possible to fold rolled dough and cut longer noodles, but I decided to roll each piece of dough flat, and only then cut each piece individually in the shape of pappardelle pasta. I used both freshly made or dried soba, and both were easy to cook. Soba noodles are obviously not as resilient as commercial gluten free pasta is, but they are strong enough to withstand mixing with any other ingredients, fresh or cooked, which are added to the dish later.

I liked both the taste and texture of soba noodles very much. They were very nice just with mild spicy homemade paste and some butter. We also enjoyed them with mushrooms, bacon, sweet red peppers and dill,

sobanudles2-23

as well as with steamed broccoli, sweet red peppers and baby bocconcini.

sobanudles2-20

I used 2 brands of buckwheat flour, both happened to be organic – Chef’s choice and Coles brand. With both flours the result was the same.

Ingredients:

  • 150g + 50g buckwheat flour
  • 1 egg
  • 50ml water
  • 2g (coffee spoon) sea salt

Recipes for gluten free soba with different choice of ingredients you can find here.

Preparation:

I always make my pasta dough on a working surface, gradually mixing in wet ingredients into the flour. Please use any technique you are familiar with and like. I am also not sure that preparing soba by first making a soft dough, and later kneading the dough with extra flour to make it more dense, is the best way to go, but that’s how I like doing it.

  • sift 150g buckwheat flour on a working surface, add salt

sobanudles2-3

  • make a well in the middle and add an egg

sobanudles2-4

  • working with a blunt knife or pastry scraper incorporate an egg into flour
  • add water

soba3-1

  • mix water with remaining flour

sobanudles2-5

  • gather all wet pieces of the dough, cutting them into smaller ones in the process

sobanudles2-6

  • press all pieces together, knead the dough and shape it into a ball

sobanudles2-7

  • spread the remaining 50g of buckwheat flour on the working surface
  • dust your palms with flour
  • work the dough, gradually incorporating the flour

sobanudles2-8

  • shape the dough into a “long brick”
  • use extra flour if necessary to roll the dough (I used both buckwheat flour or its 1:1 mix with tapioca flour)

sobanudles2-9

  • roll the dough carefully, watching that it does not stick to a working surface

sobanudles2-10

  • cut the dough into 4 squares

sobanudles2-11

  • roll each square individually until the desired thickness is reached
  • cut the dough into desired noodle shape, either one square at a time, or 2 put together

sobanudles2-13

  • cutting can be done with folded dough, but I do not recommend it

sobanudles2-14

Soba noodles can be used fresh,

sobanudles2-16

sobanudles2-2

or they can be left to dry, stored in air-tight container and used later.

Soba-5

To make the dough more flexible, flaxseed flour can be added to buckwheat flour. I haven’t tried this yet, but will try in future.

It took several minutes to cook soba in salted boiling water, but they were not ready in 2 minutes, as is often mentioned as cooking time for fresh soba. Cooking time was the same for fresh and dry soba, around 5 min. I simply tasted noodles before draining them. I also did not rinse them in cold water, but returned to a pan with all the ingredients I wanted them to be mixed with.

sobanudles2-27

Dishes with soba noodles are very light and filling at the same time. You can add anything, even with soft-boiled egg it is simply amazing. I am looking forward to try it in soups. I have to apologise for not offering Japanese style dishes with soba, but my experience in Japanese cuisine is very poor.

sobanudles2-19

12 thoughts on “Homemade Gluten Free Buckwheat Soba Noodles

  1. Thank you for the shout-out. These look amazing. I must try this if I’m ever making a larger batch. I still marvel at how well buckwheat flour can hold together with so little added.

    1. However, it was not the best way to cut soba. Next time I will try to add either flax or chia. It is not going to be authentic, but it might deliver the texture which can withstand folding. It will be interesting in terms of taste, too. One thing I am sure, soba is going to be on our menu. We liked it both very much.

      1. If I recall correctly, big if, heh, the first time I tried Soba Noodles I used Flax, or a flax egg rather, and was able to fold them, but they did break slightly when folded. Perhaps more flax may have helped. I’m starting to think a fat and a binder is key, when using buckwheat flour, for stability, which would explain the success of the yoghurt. I heard somewhere that chia was supposed to be more absorbent than flax and if used as an egg replacement it would only need half the meal compared to flax. Perhaps chia meal added as is and not as an egg replacement may be beneficial, though I’m not sure how true that is as I haven’t had a chance to try it for myself. Whichever you decide to use I look forward to reading your post.

      2. I agree with you, that using flax or chia as extra with egg in the mix, might give more pliable dough. I did not compare binding qualities of flax and chia, but they are substantial for sure. They work amazing to keep a very soft dough for bread, based on seeds and apple flesh only, without any other dry ingredients or gums. It is very reassuring to see similar approach in your recipes and learn from them. Thank you for your comments.

  2. Thanks for the inspiration. You are very brave. I haven’t tried this recipe yet, but am curious to add a bit if psyllium husk powder as a mucilaginous binder.

    1. Hi Marc, I also want to mention, that I used psyllium once to make dumplings dough and in my case it worked when making dumplings themselves, but when cooked by boiling in water, the dough dissolved in water, leaving the filling “naked”. May be it will work with other ingredients, that I do not know.

  3. It makes sense thinking about it. I find it works in baking but thanks for the heads up. You saved me some precious flour.

    1. Glad I can help, the flour is precious, indeed. Another important note, and I am trying to mention it everywhere. Buckwheat flour can absorb different amount of moisture. In some recipes, not soba, I saw the difference of 30-35g in cake recipes for 2 eggs. I am currently using only Bio-Oz brand as it is the only one 100% gluten free. This particular flour is darker, with grey overtone, sometimes with little black specks. The darker the flour, the more water it takes, so lighter flour takes less. As a result you might need a touch more flour if it is not Bio-Oz. This is quite specific feature for buckwheat flour and it is not related to fine or coarse texture of the flour. The recipe you are currently it uses more typical buckwheat flour. Hope it does make sense.

Leave a comment